top

My name is Lola!

Miniature Schnauzer Dog for adoption in San Diego, California - Lola
Add me to your favorites

I'm being cared for by:
Fuzzy Feet Dog Rescue

Facts about Lola

  • Breed: Miniature Schnauzer
  • Color: White
  • Age: Adult
  • Size: Small 25 lbs (11 kg) or less
  • Sex: Female
  • ID#: 8323501
You can fill out an adoption application online on our official website.

Lola is an extremely lovable little girl.  She weighs about 22lbs, I had her down to 19lbs but a slight increase was recommended by the vet.  She is spayed, UTD on shots, and has a microchip.  She is great with cats, actually pays no attention to them at at (at least mine). She has been around tons of dogs and i would say that she is accepting of any animal that her pac leaders allow into the pac, however she does try to display dominance over other dogs and will want to naturally determine where she lies in the hierarchy of the pac.  I would say that her ideal home would be with a family that can give her lots of attention, and thus would probably prefer fewer other dogs or to even be alone where she can have all the attention to herself.  She is good with other dogs though, but she is not submissive to other dogs and would not do well with a dominant dog.  Larger dogs and older dogs are probably better for her to be around than smaller dogs and puppies.   She does not like to be alone and can be vocal and even a little anxious when alone.  Being around other dogs doesnt ameliorate this anxiety, only people. She loves to be with her people, meaning that she is the happiest when she is around her family doing anything and everything.  She is a lap dog and loves to be in physical contact with her family.  She likes to sleep cuddled up in your arms or legs.  I would say that she is crate trained, although I believe she would much rather prefer to sleep in a nice dog bed or on the bed with her family  She was potty trained very well and will wake you up or let you know by scratching a door or something if she needs to go potty.  Her stools are always firm.  She does not mark, or displays possessiveness of things.  She loves to go on walks and loves to run.  She gets extremely excited for walks etc, but she would be great for hiking and any outdoor activities where dogs can be included.  She does bark at other dogs on walks, but if she is focused on her walk and her leader then she will be  ok.  Her energy level leads her to pull while walking, so i would not recommend a common harness.  I actually walk her on a face lead which I will provide to new home upon adoption.  This has proven to work very well with her for understanding commands while walking.  She is very high energy, and needs to be with a family that is active and is willing to make sure she is getting her exercise.  She would not do well in a family without proper exercise, as her energy level will build up and she would probably become very vocal.  She does not chew on toys or pretty much anything at all unless given a bone or treat for chewing.  Im not sure why, but she doesnt seem to know how to play with other dogs, meaning that she doesnt understand how to play.  I think that she may have been isolated a lot in a prior home which is why she never learned how to play and why she gets anxious and vocal when alone. She does listen well to her pac leader(s) although i would not recommend leash free walking as she may see another animal and give chase.  She eats on command, meaning that she has been taught not to eat her food until given permission or command.  She currently eats 2 x per day, (morning and night).  She is not possessive of food, you can take food away from her at anytime and she will not react.  She is fed along with other dogs and is fine, although she will growl if another dog tries to go in her bowl.  Her diet has consisted of good quality dog foods (Wellness Core, Nulo, McCormick, Blue Buffalo Wilderness etc, all foods give 5 star rating)  I do not believe she has any food allergy, although i may suspect a sensitivity to salmon (I have not confirmed this yet but will).   She has been groomed about every 4-6 weeks by the same groomer for the past 3 years.  She does very well at the groomers but should be walked prior to grooming to help bring her energy level down.  Grooming is required with her, as she does not shed and her hair grows very quickly.  I had her on a prescription for Comfortis to control fleas, but has since transitioned her to a daily dose of Brewers Yeast tablets with each meal.  She is ok with teeth cleaning and brushing.  Please contact me for more information or if you have any questions.  

Sean@fuzzyfeetdogrescue.org

8582312237    



Visit this organization's web site to see any additional information available about this pet.

About Fuzzy Feet Dog Rescue

Our Adoption Process...

We have a two week foster period that allow you to ensure that the dog you choose to adopt is right for you.

Adoption fees: $175 for adults (dogs over 1 year), $200 for puppies.