My name is Dolly!

Terrier (Unknown Type, Small) Mix Dog for adoption in Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin - Dolly
Photo 1 - Terrier (Unknown Type, Small) Mix Dog for adoption in Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin - Dolly
Photo 2 - Terrier (Unknown Type, Small) Mix Dog for adoption in Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin - Dolly
Photo 3 - Terrier (Unknown Type, Small) Mix Dog for adoption in Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin - Dolly
Add me to your favorites

I'm being cared for by:
Lola's Lucky Day - Fort Atkinson

Facts about Dolly

  • Breed: Terrier (Unknown Type, Small) Mix
  • Color: Tan/Yellow/Fawn
  • Age: Young
  • Size: Small 25 lbs (11 kg) or less
  • Sex: Female
Hi there!

My name is Dolly and I'm here to tell you all about myself. I'm a special needs pooch who has been with Paddy's for a little over three months and am ready to find the perfect home! I am about 12 pounds and one year old. I was in foster care from 4 weeks of age under almost 9 months, so I'm ready for one of those "Forever homes".

I had a rough go of it when I first arrived in Wisconsin. I was going home with my foster mom and a big dog lunged right at us and bit me! I got away and was so scared I just ran and ran. Looking back, it wasn't the greatest idea because I ended up getting hit by a car. The nice Paddys people rushed me right to to emergency room and got me all fixed up. I had to have surgery, which was really scary, but I'm so thankful that so many kind people donated to help me because after a few months of hard work I am nearly good as new!

Therapy was hard and didn't always feel good. I was confused and scared and didn't always cooperate with my foster mom at first. She kept pushing me though, and once I was through the hardest parts she let me hang out with her dog, who is also a Paddy's pooch, to help motivate me to move around. It worked like a charm! I love Hannah so much, she's a big gentle giant and lets me follow her all over and snuggle in her bed with her. I went from using my hurt leg 5% of the time, to 100% of the time in just a few short weeks. My therapy team was amazed and gave me the all clear a few weeks ago. They said my X-rays look great, but I need to lose a few more pounds to lower the chances of arthritis as much as possible. I've lost 5 pounds over the last 3 months, but have about 5 more to go. There's a very small chance I could need another surgery way down the road, but the more active I stay and the more of that weight I lose, the more those chances go down.

My other challenge is that I can be really wary of new people. I LOVE my foster family and snuggle up to them every day. It took awhile, and a lot of patience, to get there though. I will come out of "my room" to scope out new people, but I'm not really ready to approach strangers yet even with my foster mom and dad around. My new family will need to give me as much time as I need to settle in and become comfortable, and make sure I have my own space at first where I can settle in and be comfortable. I promise though, it will be worth the wait because I am a REALLY good snuggler. I think I can keep making more and more progress, but I might just always be on the shy side.

Right now I am pretty much just a home body. After being on the loose and being hit by a car, the outside world is still a scary, scary place. I love my yard at my foster families house and have not had any accidents inside in over a month!

I am looking for an adults only home (no grandchildren under 15 please!) with another snuggly dog (or 2!) that I can be friends with, who are home often, have experience with shy dogs, have a fenced in yard and who have a lot of patience. If you think this sounds like you, let the folks at Paddy's know and they can set up a time for us to meet each other.

Thanks for reading my story! I hope I can meet me forever family soon.



Our process includes an approved application, reference checks, a homevisit and a meet and greet. Please note that preference is given to adopters in Wisconsin, but out of state adoptions will be considered.

Adoption fee is $250.

Begin your application process by copying this link into your web browser:

Learn more about Paddy's Paws at
WI Department of Ag License: 402779-DS

About Lola's Lucky Day - Fort Atkinson

About Our Rescue Group...

We are a small group of volunteers that rescue dogs from the Houston, TX area. We vet these dogs, get them healthy, then work with our Wisconsin partner rescue Paddy's paws to find them loving homes in Wisconsin.

If you are on Facebook please follow us at Lola's Lucky Day and our Wisconsin partner Paddy's Paws!

Donate to Our Rescue Group...

Paypal to - Thank you!

Come Meet Our Pets...

All appointments are set up individually for meet and greets.

Our Adoption Process...

Our adoption fees are $250. Approval process requires a completed application, home visit and meet and greet.

Begin your application process here: If you are unable to click on this link, please copy and paste into your browser.

Once approved all adopters will be required to sign a contract. Thank you.