My name is EVAN SHY 8 YR OLD!

Poodle (Standard) Dog for adoption in Mentor, Ohio - EVAN SHY 8 YR OLD
Photo 1 - Poodle (Standard) Dog for adoption in Mentor, Ohio - EVAN SHY 8 YR OLD
Photo 2 - Poodle (Standard) Dog for adoption in Mentor, Ohio - EVAN SHY 8 YR OLD
Photo 3 - Poodle (Standard) Dog for adoption in Mentor, Ohio - EVAN SHY 8 YR OLD
Photo 4 - Poodle (Standard) Dog for adoption in Mentor, Ohio - EVAN SHY 8 YR OLD
Add me to your favorites

I'm being cared for by:
Close to Home Animal Rescue - Mentor Chapter

Facts about EVAN SHY 8 YR OLD

  • Breed: Poodle (Standard)
  • Color: White
  • Age: Adult
  • Size: Small 25 lbs (11 kg) or less
  • Sex: Male
  • ID#: 62329

LOCATION OF FOSTER: EUCLID,OH. You MUST be willing to travel to EUCLID,OH within 72 hours if your application is approved. We do NOT ship/hold/transport dogs.

HOW TO ADOPT: To adopt one of our animals we REQUIRE an adoption application be completed on our website at:

The first step to adopt a dog is to complete the application to ensure you are a fit for the dog you are interested in. Your answers on the application will help us find the best fit for you and also for the dog. The application is at: WWW.CTHAR.ORG


VETTING INCLUDED IN FEE: Neuter/spay, rabies, dhlpp, heartworm test, heartworm and flea prevention applied while in rescue

MORE INFO: Please be sure to ready the ENTIRE bio below. ALL info the rescue knows is listed and it is a lot of information so be sure to scroll down. If its not in the bio we do not know...

FROM EVAN: My name is Evan and I am a former puppy mill dog. I came from a known commercial breeding facility in the New Philadelphia area. PLEASE read all about my special home that I require and ONLY apply if you can honestly work with me like my AMAZING foster mommy has. Also, be sure to do your research on adult puppy mill rescues and what to expect. I am 13 pounds and about to 8 years old. The first 7 to 8 years of my life were more of an "existence" than a life, so I am looking for that special person or family that can ensure that the next 7 to 10 years of my life are nothing short of AMAZING, but at my pace. You see, prior to coming into rescue my only job was to "make money" for people by helping to reproduce. As such, I am NOT potty trained, but I will say that my foster mommy has done a great job of showing me where I need to go, but it is quite likely that when I get to my new home, I am going to be scared and overwhelmed, and will need a whole lot of patience and understanding in this department. Thankfully, they make this great tool called a "belly band" and if you keep that on me until I can get used to your home, your schedule, your yard, etc. that will make the potty training a lot easier on both of us. Since I am a VERY shy boy, it is necessary that you have at the very LEAST ONE friendly dog who can help me. Right now, I am with several other little dogs and I LOVE them. I like to follow their lead and that has really helped me in the human department. If you are looking for a lovable lap dog...KEEP looking because that is DEFNITELY not me. I have been in rescue since March of this year with a very patient foster mom who has continued to watch me make baby steps every single day. I have shown that with patience, understanding, and other friendly dogs that I can learn that humans are not bad, and that living indoors as a family member is great, BUT, if you think that means I am going to just coming running to you at will, well you are wrong. Again, it is going to take a very long time for me to continue to rehab. Also, a fenced in yard is MANDATORY, please do not apply if you do not have a secure fence that goes down to the ground without any areas where I can escape, as I am a HUGE flight risk. Until March of this year, I never lived indoors. I never had any human try to be kind to me or love me so all of this is very new. In my foster home, it has taken several months to get me to acclimate to every day life and I am doing that more and more, but I am still no where near what you would consider a "normal" family dog. I sure want to be. I continue to keep showing that I will be, but no, not yet, I still cannot allow myself to completely let down my guard. Now, the GREAT news is that I do not have a mean bone in my body. I have a WONDERFUL temperament, I am fearful, but I have ZERO aggression. Not with food, not with bedding, etc. One thing I have learned that I really enjoy is going for walks!!! Yep, before, it was a real challenge to get me to come near you with the leash and harness, even though I really wanted to go, I was too afraid when foster mom would bend down to touch me to put the leash and harness on but after a GREAT deal of patience and understanding on her part, I now allow her to do all of that and love to go for my walks!!! As for kids, well my foster mommy has several very young grand kids who come to visit so I am used to the kids. Of course, I do not play with them or interact with them, but again I do not have a mean bone in my body so I safe around your grand kids, however, with my fears and ALL of the work I need, an ideal home would NOT be one where there are young kids. Also, I am a HUGE flight risk and the little ones have a tendency to not be so careful with gates and doors, so a home with children over 14 would be more my style. Truly, I just need a safe, patient, loving place who has nothing but time and really wants a dog who they can see blossom over the coming years. I can promise that I am really not much trouble. I really am not used to the luxuries of life, so a warm bed, a crate, and food for my belly is really all I desire. I will say that the people in this rescue have a lot of experience with dogs "like me" and they all have said while it can take a long time for dogs "like me" to come around completely, we do make "steps" every day and every day you can "see progress" if you just continue to take it slow. Also, in time they also say that once we have "come around" that we are the best and most loyal thankful pets you can ever have. If you like instant gratification, you and I are not a match. If you like to build relationships, nurture it, and work on it, to then eventually be able to have that "perfect" relationship then you and I are meant to be and you should go and complete the application at: WWW.CTHAR.ORG
EVAN** SHY BOY NEEDS SPECIAL OWNER 7 to 8 years old, Poodle has been shared from Shelter Exchange.

About Close to Home Animal Rescue - Mentor Chapter

Donate to Our Rescue Group...


Come Meet Our Pets...

We are all all-foster network so the animals are kept in our homes and viewed by appointment after an application has been processed and approved. We do hold local adoption events at Mayfield Heights Petsmart and also Complete Petmart in Austintown.

Our Adoption Process...

You will be required to complete an adoption application and a fee will apply.