My name is Mieka!

German Shepherd Dog Mix Dog for adoption in Edmonton, Alberta - Mieka
Add me to your favorites

I'm being cared for by:
Zoe's Animal Rescue Society

Facts about Mieka

  • Breed: German Shepherd Dog Mix
  • Color: Tan/Yellow/Fawn - With Black
  • Age: Senior
  • Size: Large 61-100 lbs (28-45 kg)
  • Sex: Female
Mieka | Female | German Shepherd X |

Rescue Story:
I came into Zoe's to find a family to spend my retirement years with.

Date of Birth: 2007-2008
Energy Level: Medium - High
Size (adult): Large

Good with Dogs? No
Although I love meeting dogs on walks, I do occasionally resource guard my food so I should be the only dog in the house.
Good with Cats? No
I like to chase cats when they run. I may be good with a dog-savvy cat.
Good with Kids? Yes
I love kids - so my forever home should have kids in it.

Critter Twitter:
I love to sit and watch the world go by, through the window or outside, so if you like to stop and take a look at the world around you, I am the dog for you. #takeabreakfromreality #chillingout

About my Behaviour:
My name is Mieka and I am new to life indoors. I am a chill girl who loves going for walks and spending time outside in the yard – breathing in all the fresh air and watching nature go by. I really like to chase other animals – cats, bunnies, partridges, you name it, so I will need a secure yard in my forever home. When out on walks I do get nervous when other dogs bark, cars drive by and loud noises. I am also nervous during car rides and prefer to keep my four paws on solid ground.
I like being near my people and enjoy sitting next to my foster family while they are eating or while I am eating my meals. I can sometimes be protective of my people, and occasionally I resource guard my food when around other dogs.

My foster mom is amazed that she has never heard me bark, instead I communicate with her by whining when I want something like going outside, playing with a dog or seeing a kid I want to play with.

I can get anxious when there are lots of people gathering in one spot and at bedtime. My foster mom thinks it's because I am new to being indoors, so she lets me sleep in her bed and I love that. When I get anxious my foster family distracts me by using a thunder shirt or filling a kong with treats. Because I am still learning the ropes of indoor life, my foster mom hasn’t yet left me alone in the house. She is also working on teaching me some pretty cool things like how to sit and to lay down.

How’s my Health?
I have been spayed, vaccinated and microchipped. I will be getting some dental work done shortly. I am also a bit overweight and my foster family is helping me bring it down to a healthy level.

About Zoe's Animal Rescue Society

About Our Rescue Group...

We are a group of animal lovers who strive to change the world one animal at a time!

If you can't adopt from us consider making a donation. We are a certified charity and can provide tax receipts for donations.

Donate to Our Rescue Group...

Paypal available on site or email money transfer to, use the answer Rescue

Come Meet Our Pets...

Check out our website for adoption events near you!

Our Adoption Process...

We require potential adopters to fill out our online adoption application on our website, be open to a homecheck, pay an adoption fee that can be found on our website and sign a contract agreeing to spay and neuter their animal if they have been adopted before this is done and to agree to contact us if for some reason they can not keep the animal any time in the future.