top

My name is HUDSON!

Rhodesian Ridgeback/Labrador Retriever Mix Dog for adoption in Urbana, Illinois - HUDSON
Add me to your favorites

I'm being cared for by:
Champaign County Humane Society

Facts about HUDSON

  • Breed: Rhodesian Ridgeback/Labrador Retriever Mix
  • Color: Unknown
  • Age: Young
  • Size: Small 25 lbs (11 kg) or less
  • Sex: Male
  • ID#: 10730293-A079730

About Champaign County Humane Society

About Our Shelter...

Our Mission
To instill respect, kindness, and compassion for animals as community values.

Our Purpose
To prevent cruelty to animals, to promote animal welfare, to educate the public about the humane care and treatment of animals, to increase public awareness of the companion animal overpopulation issue and to provide solutions, and to provide high quality shelter, medical, and adoption services for animals when necessary.

As an independent charitable organization (501(c)(3)), our name reflects our geographic location only. We are not a County agency and we are not supported by tax dollars. We are not affiliated with any national animal welfare organization.

We operate an "open door" animal shelter and accept all companion animals needing shelter, regardless of age, physical condition, or adoptability.

Staff
■Executive Director - Mary "Tief" Tiefenbrunn - Tief@cuhumane.org
■Development Director - Megan Wolf - Megan@cuhumane.org
■Development Assistant - Nancy Nickell – Nancy@cuhumane.org
■Bookkeeper - Marlene Walker - Marlene@cuhumane.org
■Shelter Manager - Michelle McKnight - Michelle@cuhumane.org
■Humane Investigator/Educator - Clay Foley - Clay@cuhumane.org
■Animal Behavior Specialist and Volunteer Coordinator - Danielle Bender - Danielle@cuhumane.org
■Medical Care Supervisor - Karen Simmons - Karen@cuhumane.org
■Medical Lab Staff - Lab@cuhumane.org
■Staff Veterinarian - Bob Weedon, DVM - Bob@cuhumane.org
■Surgical Assistant - Lauren Williams
■Adoption Leader - Kate McGinley - Kate@cuhumane.org
■Adoption Staff - Adoption@cuhumane.org
■Animal Care Staff - Animalcare@cuhumane.org

Come Meet Our Pets...

Address: 1911 East Main Street, Urbana, IL, 61802 (Map)
Phone: 217-344-7297

Shelter Hours for Animal Adoptions
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday: 2 PM to 7 PM
Saturday and Sunday 11 AM - 5 PM
Check Calendar for special holiday hours.

Shelter Hours for Relinquishing an Animal
Relinquishments are accepted on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, & Friday from 2pm - 4pm. Saturday & Sunday from 11am - 1pm. For more information on policies and procedures please read Surrendering Your Pet to CCHS.

If you are unable to relinquish your animal during these times, please call to set up an appointment.

Our Adoption Process...

First and foremost, we are looking for permanent, responsible homes for our animals. Thousands of animals die each year because irresponsible owners neglect them, let them breed, or just decide they no longer want them. Please consider the time and money required to own a pet. It's a lifetime commitment and nothing less is acceptable.

■ After you decide on the pet you wish to adopt, you must complete our adoption application available at the front desk. There is a mandatory 24-hour waiting period before a pet can go to a new home.
■ You must be 21 years of age or older to adopt an animal.
■ All cats and dogs will be spayed or neutered prior to adoption.
■ Animals must be taken to a veterinarian for a health exam within one week after adoption.
■ If you rent or lease your house or apartment, we require written or verbal approval from your landlord before you adopt a pet.
■ We will not adopt an animal to a person or family who is either in the process of moving or is planning to move within a month of the adoption.
■ Animals are placed as pets or companions only. We do not place cats as "barn cats" or "mousers" and dogs are not placed as strictly guard or protective animals.
■ No animal will be adopted that will be kept strictly outside.
■We do not adopt animals as gifts or presents. All members of the household must meet the animal during the adoption process.
■ If you are interest in a large dog (over 40 pounds), we suggest a fenced-in yard where the animal cannot get off your property. It is the law in Champaign-Urbana and in most outlying townships that your dog must be confined or on a leash at all times.
■ We do not suggest young puppies or kittens for a family with very young children or in a situation where all family members are gone for long periods each day.
■ If, at any time, you can no longer care for your pet, you are required to return the pet to the CCHS shelter or the closest humane society.
■ CCHS reserves the right to refuse any adoption.

Adoption Fees

■ Dogs: $95 - $150
■ Cats: $50 - $100
■ Kittens and puppies under five months of age: $100 - $150
■ Small mammals, exotics, and birds: Prices range from $5 on up.