top

My name is A - HONEY!

Labrador Retriever/Retriever (Unknown Type) Mix Dog for adoption in Raleigh, North Carolina - A - HONEY
Add me to your favorites

I'm being cared for by:
A Better Life - Raleigh/Durham

Facts about A - HONEY

  • Breed: Labrador Retriever/Retriever (Unknown Type) Mix
  • Color: Tan/Yellow/Fawn - With White
  • Age: Adult
  • Size: Large 61-100 lbs (28-45 kg)
  • Sex: Female
Hi, my name is HONEY! What’s yours? Nice to meet ya! ASK FOR MORE PHOTOS OF ME!

Hey! Before you get attached to me, read all the way to the bottom. You will see that I am still in Houston, TX but I want to get OUT of Houston and OUT of Texas so I can have a really good life. I want to see Texas in my rear view mirror. A nice person came along and took me in and, now, I am ready to hit the road to your house! Uh, make that “our” house, OK? As soon as you adopt me, I’ll be on my way to you! I am very excited to find my forever home.

I am a Lab/Retriever mix girl. I am 5-years old and I weigh 61 pounds. I've had a tough life so far and probably look a little older than I am. I have had all of my shots and have been spayed and I'm ready to go to my new home with YOU! Those funny-looking 2-legged creatures also say that I am microchipped – whatever THAT is.

My story is sort of sad and my foster mom doesn't like to talk about it too much. I was used as a "hog" dog here in Texas. I have a few scars on my chest to prove it. One day, I got lost in the woods and the men who had taken me there didn't look for me and I was starving when I finally made my way to a country road and I was SAVED! Boy-oh-Boy! That was close! Whew! I know I will be fed and taken care of being with YOU! Everyone says that I am very deserving. That's another new word for me! I hope it's something good!

Through no fault of my own, I will do best in a one doggie home. I think I finally deserve to be the One and Only. Wouldn't you agree? I am ready to be your best bud - - just you and me, OK? If there are other peeps around, that's fine. I LOVE to be at home with my peeps! I need you. Do you need me?

I only have one bad habit - - I like to chase cattle! So, if you don't have any cows, I'm your gal. You know? Here in Texas, there are a lot of cows. So, I need to say, "Bye, bye, Texas!"

My foster mom loves me SO much that she only wants me to fly to my new home even if a pet transport truck was available. See my adoption information below.

If you would like to take me home (and you know you do), please email mpringle001@comcast.net and she can get me on my way to a new and loving home! My adoption fee is $650 USD and includes my vetting, spaying, microchip, health certificate, travel crate AND transportation on United Airlines from Houston, TX to areas in the Northeast U. S., North Central U. S., Northwest U. S., and Canada and will be arranged by the rescue group. (This is a courtesy posting.)


Watch this segment from the TODAY show: http://www.today.com/news/puppy-rescuer-takes-dogs-4-200-mile-odyssey-loving-arms-2D79517768

About A Better Life - Raleigh/Durham

About Our Rescue Group...

We rescue dogs from the streets of Houston, TX, vet them, recuperate them from health problems, bring them to full health and then work very hard to get them adopted out-of-state. Houston, TX has over ONE MILLION stray dogs. Thousands of perfectly healthy dogs, along with sick and dying dogs that are picked up, are euthanized every single day. Houston, TX is saturated with dogs. Everyone who WANTS a dog HAS a dog. We can only save lives by getting dogs out of our region. We have found the very best adopters in the Northeast and Northwest U. S. and Canada.

Our Adoption Process...

Our adoption fee is $650 or $700 (depending on size) for a dog being transported via United Airlines (includes previous vetting, microchip, spay/neuter, travel health certificate, travel crate and air transport.


Our adoption process consists, first, of filling out an application with photos of inside of home and outside yard. We then check out the application. Then, we notify the person or family as to whether or not they have been approved for a particular dog. We then arrange a flight to send the dog to its new home.