Adopting a pet soon - or maybe you recently welcomed a furry friend?
Keep your fur-ball smiling with goodies! Tell us your adoption tale and get hooked up with free vet consultations, awesome deals on pet grooming, DNA tests, and more!
Close button icon Confirmed adopter dog image
Adopt a Pet
Proudly powered by
My name is Soki!

Facts about me

Breed
Labrador Retriever
Color
Black - with White
Age
Senior
Size
(When grown) Med. 26-60 lbs (12-27 kg)
Weight
Sex
Female
Pet ID
17298476

My info

Small blue checkmark Good with kids
Small blue checkmark Good with dogs
Small red x Not good with cats
Small blue checkmark Purebred
Small blue checkmark Shots current
Small blue checkmark Spayed / Neutered
Small blue checkmark Housetrained

My story

My name is SOKI and I'm a lovely 9 yrs young F Black Lab. I'm a Hurricane Henri survivor having been found running loose in the storm. I was lost, scared and absolutely drenched (hence my name pronounced 'Soak-ee') luckily I found a good samaritan who kindly took me in and once I was dry, they could see that I was 60 lbs of 'SWEET SUGAR' After doing some searching, my original owner was found, but only to be told that he had given me to a relative and they were not in a position to take me back. They told my good samaritan that I was originally adopted as a pup in Argentina and transported here, but sadly even with all that I've been thru my owners couldn't take me back... but it's alright ... I'm moving on and looking forward to new life adventures with a new person/couple/family.

Besides being very sweet & kind, I'm friendly to all, easy going, friendly and affectionate. Don't let my age fool you... I'm still very active.. I love to go on long walks & love running and fetching. I'm a perfect dog to do yoga (i.e doga) in the am, go hiking in the afternoon and then come home, fetch in the yard and then lounge out on the couch.

I'm good with dogs and kids but like to chase cats too much so NO CATS for me. I'm housebroken, but have never been crated so not sure how I would do crated. I'm still a bit of a puller on the leash and can be leash reactive with other dogs barking at them so I will need some work on the leash training. Off leash I'm fine with dogs. I'm a smart cookie - quick to learn and eager to please so training exercises will be fun for me. I don't seem to have separation anxiety but I have been known to chew on a few things when left alone so a nice Kong or chew toy would be best if you have to leave me. My only vice seems to be some resource guarding with other dogs with food and high value treats i.e bones but this is easily managed by feeding me separate and no bones.

All in all I'm a WONDERFUL GOLDEN GIRL who has so much positive energy even though I've been abandoned twice. If you're looking for a lovely sweet medium active companion to be your co-pilot in your life adventures - that's me... come and meet me today.

For more info/application - pls email: INFO@TAILSOFLOVERESCUE.ORG

 
 
 
 
 


November 19, 2022, 7:11 pm
Rescue

Tails of Love Animal Rescue, Inc.

Contact info
Pet ID
17298476
Contact
Phone
Address
Staten Island, NY 10302
Donation

Their adoption process

Additional adoption info

Contract, Reference/Vet check, Home visit, Typical fee for dog - $300.00 (varies slightly for puppy and breed) Cats $75

Go meet their pets

www.tailsofloverescue.org
www.facebook.com/tailsoflove
Foster homes - by appointment only

More about this rescue

Tails of Love Animal Rescue, Inc. (“TOLAR”). is a Staten Island, New York based non-profit (501(c)3), no kill, all volunteer animal rescue group formed and committed to provide for the rescue, rehabilitation, and re-homing of unwanted, neglected and/or abused animals. We have a Kennel/shelter facility in East Brunswick, NJ - by appointment only.