Adopt

My name is Dally!

Posted 1 year ago

My basic info

Breed
Golden Retriever/Labrador Retriever
Color
Red/Golden/Orange/Chestnut
Age
2 years 10 months old, Young
Size
Med. 26-60 lbs (12-27 kg) (when grown)
Weight
38 lbs (current)
Sex
Female
Pet ID

My details

Checkmark in teal circle Good with kids
Checkmark in teal circle Good with dogs
Checkmark in teal circle Good with cats
Checkmark in teal circle Shots current
Checkmark in teal circle Spayed / Neutered
Checkmark in teal circle Housetrained
Checkmark in teal circle Has special needs

My story

Here's what the humans have to say about me:

Apply here: http://athenscaninerescue.com/adoption-procedures/

PLEASE READ BEFORE APPLYING.

PLEASE NOTE THAT DALLY CANNOT HAVE "FREE" ACCESS TO ANY SOURCES OF FOOD OR WATER.

Welcome Dally! This beautiful girl was little more than skin and bones when she joined our program, but now she’s a “giant goober” (per foster mom; and yes, that’s the technical term, of course) who is loving life and living it to the fullest. Dally has mega esophagus, which means that without the help of gravity and some time spent upright after eating or drinking, she will regurgitate anything she consumes. We’ve got her outfitted with a special throne (okay, chair, whatever) for mealtimes now and she has steadily gained weight and is learning how to be a dog. (She also likes to put herself into the chair anytime she thinks she should get a snack. Hey, Mom. Mom! Mom! I’m in the chair! Feed me!!) She gets medication twice a day and needs to use her chair for meals, but other than that, she’s healthy and and a typically developing dog.

At just over a year and technically still a puppy, Dally has proven to be smart and quick to learn the rules! She is fully housebroken, keeps her crate clean all night long, and will reliably “sit” or “leave it” upon command.

Dally lives with humans of all ages, other dogs, cats, and has been around farm animals. No worries, she loves them all! Everyone is very exciting and a potential new BFF. She is still learning her own size and how to calm down, so while she loves everyone and everything, her exuberance could be a touch overwhelming for other small creatures. Currently she is learning to listen to the corrections of the cats in her household, because although they’re super fun to chase, sometimes they would like her to stop. Again, she’s still young, so we expect with consistent training she will settle down a bit.

Foster mom describes Dally as the perfect combination of loving everyone yet not being needy or clingy. Do you want to play with her? Right on! Just want her to settle down a bit? She’s happy to just snuggle in nearby. She “talks” to her humans, using a variety of sounds that are hilarious.

Dally is down for new adventures and Netflix binges, alike. Currently she enjoys a couple of short walks each day. She will not be well-suited to super long excursions, especially in warmer weather, as dehydration is a concern (and taking her chair on a hike would be… awkward). But she’s ready to meet new friends, explore new toys, and says that sometimes slowing down a bit is how you savor the good stuff.

Don’t dilly-dally; contact us today about meeting Dally!

If you’d like to be considered to adopt, the first step in the process is to submit an application through our website: http://athenscaninerescue.com/adoption-procedures/. Our adoption fee is $250 per dog over the age of 6 months and $300 per dog 6 months or younger. We accept payment by Venmo, PayPal, or card.

This includes: basic vet care (i.e. basic vaccinations, including boosters completed after adoption, spay/neuter, heartworm/flea preventatives, and treatment for any health needs while in our care), a microchip, a week’s worth of food for the trial-period, and a harness lead.

All in state applications will be considered with some preference given to more local applications. WE ARE NOT ACCEPTING OUT OF STATE APPLICATIONS FOR DOGS SIX MONTHS OR YOUNGER.

We do not have a facility and operate through a network of foster homes. Thus, we do not have a phone number. If you’d like to discuss potential adoptions, please email at adopt@athenscaninerescue.com.

Find a pet to adopt