My name is Peggy!

Chihuahua Mix Dog for adoption in Essington, Pennsylvania - Peggy
Photo 1 - Chihuahua Mix Dog for adoption in Essington, Pennsylvania - Peggy
Photo 2 - Chihuahua Mix Dog for adoption in Essington, Pennsylvania - Peggy
Photo 3 - Chihuahua Mix Dog for adoption in Essington, Pennsylvania - Peggy
Add me to your favorites

I'm being cared for by:
Peace, Love & Doggie Paws Rescue, Inc.

Facts about Peggy

  • Breed: Chihuahua Mix
  • Color: Tan/Yellow/Fawn - With White
  • Age: Young
  • Size: Small 25 lbs (11 kg) or less
  • Sex: Female
  • ID#: 55
Hello folks I'm Peggy!
I was rescued from a very scary kill shelter in Philadelphia. I was so afraid, that I wouldn't let anyone near me. The people at the shelter actually misjudged my age, calling me "very old", when actually I'm only 3yrs old. When I first met my foster mom, I was way to scared to come out of my cage. I wasn't very nice to her at all, but she was very patient, and just stood and waited, talking to me gently. She waited a looong time, and then I decided to give her a chance and literally jumped into her arms. My foster mom says I'm a real piece of work, whatever that means. I'm a very typical Chihuahua. I'm bossy, fresh, a little wicked, adorable, lovable, sooo funny, and a real cuddlebug. Like a lot of chihuahuas, I'm 99% housetrained. I sometimes have an accident if mom's a little slow to get me outside. I don't like to be crated, but will tolerate it if needed. I am not afraid to use my voice. I am the boss of the other dogs that live here and tell them off regularly. I also announce my arrival in the backyard so everyone knows I'm there, and have my eye on what's going on. My very best friend is our big dog Finn. He is 10 times my size, I'm 10lbs, and he's 100lbs. He is my absolute favorite snuggle buddy!! I sometimes cuddle with our other big dog Rocky the boxer too. I really hope my forever family will have a big brother dog for me. I always sleep with my foster mom at night. I get under the covers and curl right up against her.
We have a bunch of dogs & cats here, and I do just fine with all of them. I have not been tested with small kids, and foster mom says no kids under 12 for me, since I can be such a typical Chihuahua. I love to hang out in the yard, especially on sunny days, but I must have a secure fence, since I will go adventuring if I can.
So if you think I'm cute, just check out my ears, and you are up to the demands of a feisty Chihuahua, then please fill out an application to Adopt me. One more thing. I am currently living in the Philadelphia area, and you will need to be living near there as well since we need a home visit as part of the adoption process. Mom says a radius of 50- 75 miles is the max so she can get to you in a timely fashion.
Thanks for checking me out today, and I hope you apply for me or another rescued dog real soon!

This dog is available for adoption through Peace, Love & Doggie Paws Rescue. If you are interested in meeting this dog, or if you have any questions, please contact us at You can also receive further information on our website

About Peace, Love & Doggie Paws Rescue, Inc.

Our Adoption Process...

PLDP's number one goal is the successful placement of pets into their forever homes. Our process is designed to ensure the best adoption match for our pets and your family.

Families interested in adopting a pet should fill out the adoption application at and email it to A PLDP representative will review your application and respond to you within 48 hours. After your application is processed, a time to meet your new fur friend can be scheduled. PLDP also requires home visits for all applicants. This visit can be done at the time of the meet or at a separate time. If you have any questions regarding our adoption process, please feel free to contact us.