Prepping for pet parenthood?
There's a lot to learn when you have a new pet. Our sister brand, The Wildest, is here to support you—with new pet checklists, virtual training, and expert guides. Sign up for free.
Close button icon
Adopt

My name is
Duke/Jock!

Posted over 7 years ago | Updated 2 days ago

My basic info

Breed
Australian Cattle Dog/Harrier
Color
Red/Golden/Orange/Chestnut - with White
Age
Adult
Size
Med. 26-60 lbs (12-27 kg) (when grown)
Weight
Sex
Male
Pet ID
8259507-122101

My details

Alert icon Not good with kids
Checkmark in teal circle Good with dogs
Checkmark in teal circle Good with cats
Checkmark in teal circle Shots current
Checkmark in teal circle Spayed / Neutered
Checkmark in teal circle Housetrained

My story

Here's what the humans have to say about me:

You can fill out an adoption application online on our official website.

Hi, I’m Duke! I am a charming, happy, Cattle Dog mix.  I love to go for walks  or runs  (and I am really good at it!). I also love car rides, stuffed animals, and playing in a fenced-in backyard. I am completely house trained,  crate trained ,  and am very intelligent. I know what sit, lay down , and stay mean, but I could use some more training to work on those commands and anything else you want to teach me.  I love to run and play; I have a whole lot of energy, but I also love to cuddle, give kisses and be loved by my human companion .  Basically, I just like to be doing what my people are.   I am very cautious of new people. I really prefer to come check you out first, and I really rather you don’t pet me until I know you will treat me with kindness.  I may  have to meet you a couple times before  I know I can trust you .   I can’t tell my friends at Last Hope what happened to me before I came to stay with them, but all they know is that it takes me a while to trust people and be comfortable in situations.  Because of this, I should not be in a home with young kids or teens.  My dream home would be with an adult family who is familiar with my kind of challenges and who has a physically fenced in yard. I also want 1 other playful dog around my size (50 pounds+) or bigger  to play with (I can play a little rough so they need to be tough like me) and a family who is very patient with me while I adjust to new people in my life.  I am a very loyal companion and I just want to please my humans!   Once I know I can trust you, I just want to be around you and will be your shadow as you go through your day.  I have also had my DNA tested! I am officially an Australian Cattle Dog/Harrier mix!   

Last Hope requires that all pets be kept as indoor pets, be altered and current on vaccinations and preventatives. Our adoption process includes reference and vet checks and a home visit. The adoption fee includes: spay/neuter, microchip and vaccinations.  



Visit this organization's web site to see any additional information available about this pet.
March 1, 2024, 7:45 pm
Rescue
Last Hope Animal Rescue

Contact info

Pet ID
8259507-122101
Contact
Phone
Address
1825 16th Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Donation

Their adoption process

Additional adoption info

All adopters must fill out an application on our website at www.adopthope.org. References will be checked. We also complete a home visit and have a contract for all adoptions. Adoptions fees vary but start at $50 for cats and kittens, $250 for dogs, $300 for puppies.